THE JAZZCATS take you back to the time when the Savoy Ballroom was at its peak with dance, laughter, and people toasting into the wee hours. Some of Sweden’s foremost young jazz musicians have come together in one band to carry on the tradition of jazz.

The Jazzcats sounds like a big band in a smaller format with a personal expression. The repertoire consists of instrumental swing from the 30s and 40s and vocal classics made famous by Nat King Cole and Frank Sinatra. The essence of the group is pure joy and high energy, mixed with lyrical and colorful arrangements. The band members regularly play at jazz clubs and festivals around the country.

”We are proud to present this very exciting and personal group from Stockholm at the Classic Jazz Festival. They emphatically show how professional young musicians of today can in a virtuoso and musical way manage and develop jazz traditions of the 1930s / 40s. We promise an exceptionally charming swing experience!”

Classic Jazz Festival, 2018

Band members:

Terese Lien Evenstad – Violin
Alexander Ivarsson – Clarinet / Vocals
Agnes Darelid – Trombone
Alf Carlsson – Guitar
Samuel Löfdahl – Bass
Oskar Mattsson – Drums

Listen to The Jazzcats on Soundcloud