TLE Quartet

“What a debut album this is! All of the eight tracks are composed by Terese Lien Evenstad and they all offer modern, exciting and infinitely beautiful violin jazz! She has her own tonal expression and her ability to create suggestive melodies is in a league of it’s own. Influences from Miles Davis modal jazz, Hans Zimmers compositions for film productions and the Nordic nature can all be heard in Woodland. But in the end, Woodland sounds like Terese Lien Evenstad Quartet and nothing else.”
Johan Jakobsson, Orkesterjournalen (Swedens largest and eldest jazzmagazine)

Terese Lien Quartet released their debutalbum “Woodland” (Jotun Records) in october 2017 which recieved great reviews. The group plays Terese’s compositions and the music can be described as exciting, lyrical and beautiful but also explosive and harsh. The band consists of award-winning musicians from Sweden, Norway and Iceland and together they create a Nordic contemporary expression. The music gets an original sound through each musician’s personal interpretation and the unique constellation with violin, piano, doubles and drums. TLE quartet has already played at a few large scenes in Scandinavia, for example, Bangen Jazz & Blues Festival, Umeå Jazzfestival, Victoria Nasjonal Jazzscene (Oslo), Stockholm Jazzfestival and Fasching (Stockholm).

Terese Lien Evenstad from Norway/Sweden, is the first jazzviolinist in history to graduate from the Bachelor’s Programme in Jazz – Performance, at Royal College of Music in Stockholm. Her own music and performances have led to a nomination in the prestigious jazz prize of Jazzkatten in the category “Newcomer of the year 2018” which is awarded by the Swedish national radio P2 (swedens largest jazz prize). She was also awarded the “Louis Armstrong-scholarship” in 2018 with the motivation: “She has given the violin a new face within jazz”. Terese has also been honored to perform her music with “Bohuslän Big Band”, one of the most two well known big bands in Sweden. She was invited to their project called “Up and coming artists 2019”, where they present young musicians who have made a name for themselves in the Swedish jazz society.

Anna Gréta Sigurðardóttir (born 1994) is born and raised in Iceland. She has performed extensively in both Iceland and Sweden in her own name and with other bands and is a sought after group member in Stockholm’s jazz scene. She has performed and toured with some of Swedens top jazz musicians such as Håkan Broström and played with some of the top big bands such as Norrbotten Big Band and New Places Orchestra. Anna Gréta won the Icelandic Music Awards for best new talent in jazz in 2014. In march 2018 she was awarded the “Friends of Fasching” award, that is given out to one young up and coming jazz musician in Sweden every year.

Arvid Jullander from Gothenburg, Sweden, is one of the most interesting and upcoming
bassists in Sweden. He has played with top musicians from all over the world. Chosen as one out of three bassists to the “Betty Carters Jazz Ahead” – program, he got to work with Jason Moran, Eric Harland, Carmen Lundy and Eric Revis, among many others. After studying at The Royal College of Music in Stockholm, he is now one of the hardest working musicians in the city. In august 2018 he was awarded the “Monica Zetterlund” award, that is given out to one young up and coming jazz musician every year.

Peter Danemo is a Stockholm-based drummer and composer. Danemo has formed and played in a wide range of groups during his career. For example Peter Danemo Quartet, whose members included Esbjörn Svensson, the Swedish pianist who would go on to achieve massive global success as the driving force behind contemporary jazz group EST. Danemo has received wide recognition for his composing skills. In 1993, for instance, he won first prize in the Concours International de Composition de Themes de Jazz competition, which is held annually in Monaco. He has made large numbers of recordings with many groups and been involved in countless tour projects across Scandinavia and Europe with jazz stars such as; Clark Terry, Kenny Drew, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Red Rodney, Arne Domnérus, Bengt Hallberg, Bobo Stenson, Miroslav Vitous, Toninho Horta, Nils Landgren, Aaron Parks, Iain Ballamy, Viktoria Tolstoy and many more.

Terese Lien Evenstad – violin
Anna Greta Sigurdardottir – piano
Arvid Jullander – double bass
Peter Danemo – drums

TLE on Spotify